Norway The work of students from the Sámi
Joatkkaskuvla, Kárásjogas /Samisk Videregaende Skole, Karasjok

My name is Sara
by Sara

Hi. My name is Sara. I'm 17 years old, but I’m turning 18 on August the 29th. I live in Karasjok, which is located in North of Norway. It's a small place with a small population. I like living in Karasjok, even thought I risk getting bored of seeing the same people.
I have no special interests, just walking with my dog in the evening and go out with friends if I don't have homeworks.

Me and my village
by June

My name is June, I am 17 years old and I live in a small village named Karasjok. Karasjok is a Sami village located in the North of Norway. It can get quite cold here in the winter. Karasjok has recorded the coldest official temperature ever in Norway with -51.4 °C on 1 January 1886. This is of course a very long time ago, but it still gets pretty cold. 80% of the people who live here speak Sami as their mother tongue, I'm one of those few who doesn't, but I understand most of it. I live with my mother, stepfather, brother and my boyfriend. I have a sister too, but she lives in Las Vegas, she is three years older than me. I love animals, especially dogs, I have two dogs named Gizmo and Prince, Gizmo is a Tibetan Spaniel and Prince is a Volpino Italiano. Apart from that, I read a lot of books, and writing is something I would like to do in the future.

Finnmark County
by Piera-Heaika Tari Guttorm

Finnmark County is the biggest county but has the least people, only about 79 000. It is the northernmost county in Norway. Finnmark has a boarder with Troms County, Finland and Russia. The name means the land of the Finns (Samis). The Norwegian people have lived here a long time and they are the majority of the people, but Sami people and Finnish live in Finnmark too. The Sami people came here first.
The Finnmark moors covers 36% of the county and Finnmark is 12.9% bigger than Danmark. Before the "Finnmark property" came the 1st of July 2006, the Norwegian country owned 96% of Finnmark.

A time ago there were a lot of people who worked with reindeer, but now there are a more options for workers. The fishing is still important, but now there is an oil-company called "Snow-white" outside of Hammerfest. It will have an important role for workers in future and now.

Me and my hometown
by Christina Gjertsen (Norway)

My name is Christina and I am 17 years old. I live in Karasjok, a small village with 3000 inhabitants. My village is in the north of Norway, close to the north pole. Therefore we have a very cold winter here, with up to - 45 degrees. In my spare time I like to do homework, play indoor-bandy and sit on my computer. I'm working with photos and photo editing, and that is something I would like to work with in the future. I would like to study journalism in Oslo, which is the capital of Norway with 4 - 500 000 citizens.

Me and my family
by Piera Guttorm

My name is Piera, I am 18 years old and I live in Karasjok, which is located in the north of Norway. It's a very small place, with 2800 inhabitants. The municipality is 5464 km2, so in theory there is just 1 person in every 2 km2. But it is not like that in the real life. My interests are working with reindeer's, drive snowmobiles or cross bikes, party a little bit, and a lot of other things. I'm a lot in the mountains, specially in the summer when there isn't school. When I'm there I fish, watch over the reindeers and relax. My father works with reindeers, so it's natural that I take over the work when he retires. He lives here in Karasjok, but my mom lives in Vadso, which is located a bit further north by the coast. I have have a brother and a sister, they are both older than me and they also live here in Karasjok.

Me and my family
by Knut Erlend

My name is Knut Erlend, I was born on the 22 nd of May 1990, and I live in Karasjok, which is in the north of Norway. I have two brothers and one sister, and they're all older than me. On my sparetime I like to be with friends, watch movies, surf the internet - you know, the normal stuff. But some of my friends and I play something called Dungeons & Dragons, which is a pen and paper based table-top roleplaying game. It might sound silly, but it's alot of fun. On weekends I sometimes go out to drink. I also have two cats, who can beat the crap out of any intruding animal, such as foxes, dogs and other cats.

Date of inclusion on the website: 12.05.2009

Update: 08.09.2010